December 10, 2023

The Service Welfare Office (SWO), in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF), has recognised and rewarded three (3) outstanding staff selected from different departments under the Service Welfare Office, for their discipline, unmatched performance, diligence, and dedication to duty. The award was conferred on the recipients on Friday, 22nd September, 2023, during Service Welfare Office top management meeting, in Abuja.
The initiative is in line with the Rewards and Recognition System (R&RS) institutionalised in the Federal Civil Service, to recognize significant and outstanding value-added contributions of staff, while discharging their duties.
Speaking at the event, the Permanent Secretary, Service Welfare Office, Mr. Mahmud Adam Kambari, applauded the awardees for their outstanding performance and exemplary leadership.While encouraging other staff to take a leaf from the awardees, he added that the awardees were selected based on productivity, integrity, efficiency, service delivery, commitment, and dedication to scheduled and ad hoc duties and responsibilities. He also started that the awards were necessary to spur staff to put in their best in the discharge of their duties as well as to inspire Ministries Departments and Agencies (MDAs), of government to do more in recognising and rewarding hard work.
The Chairman or Association/Joint Union Council, Comrade Slyvester Abah in his remarks, applauded the Permanent Secretary SWO, for the initiative. He therefore sought and got the approval of the Permanent Secretary to include Junior staff in future awards.
Commenting on the selection process, the Deputy Director, in the Office of the Permanent Secretary SWO, Mr. Ogba Ukpabi, disclosed that four (4) departments under the SWO office nominated 2 staff for the awards, out of which 3 officers were chosen and rewarded after due diligence.
The award recipients are: Mr. Kelvin Nwachukwu, an Assistant Director, in the Insurance Administration department, with a cash reward of N150,000, a plaque and a letter of commendation. Mrs. Ochaya Ufoma Adejoh, Director in the FISH Department, was given a cash gift of N100,000, a plaque and letter of commendation, while Mr. Bello James Oladimeji, of the Employee & Industrial Relations Department, was rewarded with a cash gift of N50,000, a plaque and a letter of commendation.
The recognition is part of measures to create “role models”, promote behaviours that support the attainment of the goals and objectives of MDAs, improve staff productivity, as well as quality of work in tandem with the sixth pillar of the Federal Civil Service Strategy and Implementation Plan (FCSSIP-25), targeted at improving staff welfare, with a prioritised initiative for enhancing the value proposition of

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »